The University of Milan or UNIMI (Italian: Università degli Studi di Milano) is a higher education institution in Milan, Italy. It is one of the most important and largest universities in Europe, with about 60,000 students, a permanent teaching and research staff of about 2,000 and a non-teaching staff of 1,900. 

The University of Milan has 9 schools and offers 134 undergraduate and graduate courses, 21 Doctoral Schools and 92 Specialization Schools. The University's research and teaching activities have developed over the years and have received important international recognitions. The University is the only Italian member of the League of European Research Universities (LERU), a group of twenty-one research-intensive European Universities. It is also the best university in Italy in several rankings.

Throughout Milan, the University is commonly nicknamed and referred to as Statale (Public/Statal) or more simply UNIMI to avoid confusion with other universities in the city, either public such as the University of Milano-Bicocca (UNIMIB) and the Polytechnic University of Milan (POLIMI), or private such as the Bocconi University, the Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore (UNICATT) and the Free University of Languages and Communication (IULM).